Ted Larsen: Everything You Think Is True

13 November - 21 December 2020

 

  • Born in South Haven, Michigan and raised in the desert Southwest of northern New Mexico, Ted Larsen grew up in a family of artists. This environment led him to train in the Fine Arts as a matter of course. Fascinated by the geological power of the earth, the first part of his artistic journey was as a landscape painter, “Abstract Landscapes» is how he describes those endeavors.

  • Ted Larsen, Weekday, 2019

    Ted Larsen

    Weekday, 2019 Salvage Steel, Marine-grade Plywood, Silicone, Vulcanized Rubber, Hardware
    25 x 28 x 13 cm / 10 x 11 x 5 1/8 in.
  • In 2001, following the traumatic events of September 11, he abandoned the critical success of his paintings and moved into an entirely new direction. Deeply affected by this event, he spent several years developing a new way of working. Using surfaces fashioned from pre-painted salvage materials, often from automobile body parts – “non-art materials” as he calls them – Ted Larsen shapes three-dimensional wall objects by applying these surfaces with inimitable colors, nuanced by time, accidents, weather, on wooden substructures. These “Shaped Paintings”, hybrid objects with obvious sculptural qualities, question the concepts of painting and sculpture, and push back the boundaries of distinction.

    • Ted Larsen, Monopoly, 2018
      Ted Larsen, Monopoly, 2018
    • Ted Larsen, Almost Certain, 2018
      Ted Larsen, Almost Certain, 2018
  • Exploring the work’s relationship to its space of visibility, Ted Larsen blurs the lines by questioning the frontality of the wall hanging traditionally reserved for painting. The small size of these works is also a way of involving the viewer, inviting them to get closer and explore their spatiality, as well as the titles given, which, as oxymorons, bring dualities into confrontation and invite reflection.

  • Ted Larsen, Mechanized Painting, 2016

    Ted Larsen

    Mechanized Painting, 2016 Salvage Steel, Marine-grade Plywood, Silicone, Vulcanized Rubber, Hardware
    15.24 x 18.42 x 5.72 cm / 6 x 7 1/4 x 2 1/4 in.
  • Ted Larsen, Cowardly Lion, 2019

    Ted Larsen

    Cowardly Lion, 2019 Salvage Steel, Marine-grade Plywood, Silicone, Vulcanized Rubber, Hardware
    46 x 35 x 10 cm
    18 x 13 x 4 in.
    • Ted Larsen, Ourselves Alone, 2019
      Ted Larsen, Ourselves Alone, 2019
    • Ted Larsen, Hard Pillow, 2017
      Ted Larsen, Hard Pillow, 2017
    • Ted Larsen, Real Magic, 2018
      Ted Larsen, Real Magic, 2018
    • Ted Larsen, Serial Killer #6, 2015
      Ted Larsen, Serial Killer #6, 2015
  • Ted Larsen supports this artistic research on the legacy of the Russian Suprematists, the De Stijl movement, the American post minimalists and the developments proposed by Non-Objectivity. These influences have in common an attachment to simple geometric forms, the primacy of pure artistic feeling over illusionist repre- sentation, and the importance given to a plurality of different perceptions.

  • Ted Larsen, Cool Passion, 2016

    Ted Larsen

    Cool Passion, 2016 Salvage Steel, Marine-grade Plywood, Silicone, Vulcanized Rubber, Hardware
    127 x 127 x 8 cm / 50 x 50 x 3 in.
  • Ted Larsen, Definite Maybe, 2016

    Ted Larsen

    Definite Maybe, 2016 Salvage Steel, Marine-grade Plywood, Silicone, Vulcanized Rubber, Hardware
    160 x 43 x 8 cm / 63 x 17 x 3 in.
  • About Ted Larsen

    Ted Larsen (b. 1964, USA) is an internationally exhibiting artist and Pollock-Krasner Foundation recipient with a BA from Northern Arizona University. The work he creates supplies commentary on minimalist belief systems and the ultimate importance of High Art practice. Since 2001, Larsen has used alternative and salvage materials in his studio exercises.

    Ted Larsen’s work has been exhibited widely in private foundations and museums in the US, including the New Mexico Museum of Art in Santa Fe, The Albuquerque Museum, The Amarillo Museum of Art, The Spi- va Center for the Arts in Joplin, Missouri, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art as well as in over 100 gallery exhibitions. He has received grants from the Surdna Foundation and the Pollock Krasner Foundation, as well as residencies with the Edward F. Albee Foundation and Asilah Arts Festival in Morocco, where he was selected to be the USA representative. Ted Larsen is included in the collections of The New Mexico Museum of Art, The New Mexico Department of Cultural Affairs, the Palm Spring Art Museum, The Edward F. Albee Foundation, Procter & Gamble, The Bolivian Consulate, Reader’s Digest, PepsiCo, The University of Miami, The University of Texas, Krasl Art Center, Dreyfus Funds, JP Morgan Chase, Forbes, Lannan Foundation, Pioneer Hi-Bred, Inc..

  • For more information, please contact us at

    galerie@dutko.com

Ted Larsen: Everything You Think Is True

13 Novembre - 21 Décembre 2020

 

  • Né à South Haven dans le Michigan, Ted Larsen grandit dans une famille d’artistes. Cet environnement le conduit comme une évidence à se former aux Beaux-Arts. Fasciné par la puissance géologique de la région des Grands-Lacs, la première partie de son parcours artistique se fait comme peintre de paysage, « Abstract Landscapes ».

  • Ted Larsen, Weekday, 2019

    Ted Larsen

    Weekday, 2019 Salvage Steel, Marine-grade Plywood, Silicone, Vulcanized Rubber, Hardware
    25 x 28 x 13 cm / 10 x 11 x 5 1/8 in.
  • Jusqu’en 2001, il rencontre un certain succès avec ses peintures et est présenté dans de nombreuses expositions. Néanmoins il ressent progressivement un sentiment d’insatisfaction, comme si quelque chose de fondamental lui échappait dans sa pratique artistique. Le choc du 11 septembre marquera une évolution radicale de son tra- vail. Profondément affecté par cet événement, il passe plusieurs semaines sans parvenir à peindre. A son retour au studio, ce sont de tout autres gestes qui apparaissent.

    • Ted Larsen, Monopoly, 2018
      Ted Larsen, Monopoly, 2018
    • Ted Larsen, Almost Certain, 2018
      Ted Larsen, Almost Certain, 2018
  • Usant de surfaces façonnées avec des matériaux de récupération ou de métal pré-peint, souvent issu de carcasses de voitures - « non-art materials » comme il les appelle -, Ted Larsen façonne des objets muraux tridimensionnels en appliquant ces surfaces aux couleurs inimitables, nuancées par le temps, les accidents, les intempéries, sur des armatures de bois. Ces « Shaped Paintings », objets hybrides aux qualités sculpturales évidentes, questionnent les concepts de peintures et de sculptures, et en repoussent les frontières de distinction.

  • Ted Larsen, Mechanized Painting, 2016

    Ted Larsen

    Mechanized Painting, 2016 Salvage Steel, Marine-grade Plywood, Silicone, Vulcanized Rubber, Hardware
    15.24 x 18.42 x 5.72 cm / 6 x 7 1/4 x 2 1/4 in.
  • Ted Larsen, Cowardly Lion, 2019

    Ted Larsen

    Cowardly Lion, 2019 Salvage Steel, Marine-grade Plywood, Silicone, Vulcanized Rubber, Hardware
    46 x 35 x 10 cm
    18 x 13 x 4 in.
    • Ted Larsen, Ourselves Alone, 2019
      Ted Larsen, Ourselves Alone, 2019
    • Ted Larsen, Hard Pillow, 2017
      Ted Larsen, Hard Pillow, 2017
    • Ted Larsen, Real Magic, 2018
      Ted Larsen, Real Magic, 2018
    • Ted Larsen, Serial Killer #6, 2015
      Ted Larsen, Serial Killer #6, 2015
  • Ted Larsen appuie ces recherches artistiques sur l’héritage des Suprématistes russes, du mouvement De Stijl, des minimalistes américains ou encore sur les développements proposés par la Non-Objectivité. Ces influences ont en commun un attachement aux formes géométriques simples, la primauté du pur sentiment artistique sur la représentation illusionniste, et l’importance donné à la pluralité des modes de perception.

  • Ted Larsen, Cool Passion, 2016

    Ted Larsen

    Cool Passion, 2016 Salvage Steel, Marine-grade Plywood, Silicone, Vulcanized Rubber, Hardware
    127 x 127 x 8 cm / 50 x 50 x 3 in.
  • Ted Larsen, Definite Maybe, 2016

    Ted Larsen

    Definite Maybe, 2016 Salvage Steel, Marine-grade Plywood, Silicone, Vulcanized Rubber, Hardware
    160 x 43 x 8 cm / 63 x 17 x 3 in.
  • A propos de Ted Larsen

    Ted Larsen (né en 1964, USA) est un artiste internationalement exposé et récipiendaire de la Pollock-Krasner Foundation avec un BA de la Northern Arizona University. Le travail qu’il propose fournit un commentaire sur le système de croyance minimaliste et l’importance ultime de la pratique des Beaux-Arts. Depuis 2001, Larsen utilise des matériaux alternatifs et de récupération au cœur de ses recherches artistiques.

    Le travail de Ted Larsen a étélargement exposé dans les musées et fondations privées américaines, dont le New Mexico Museum of Art à Santa Fe, The Albuquerque Museum, The Amarillo Museum of Art, The Spiva Center for the Arts à Joplin, Missouri, et the Philadelphia Museum of Art ainsi que dans plus de 100 expositions dans des galeries. Il a reçu des bourses de la Surdna Foundation et de la Pollock Krasner Foundation, ainsi que des résidences avec la Edward F. Albee Foundation et le Asilah Arts Festival au Morocco, où il a été sélectionné pour être le représentant du pavillon américain. Ses œuvres font partie du New Mexico Museum of Art, du New Mexico Department of Cultural Affairs, de la Edward F. Albee Foundation, Proctor & Gamble, The Boli- vian Consulate, Reader’s Digest, PepsiCo, des collections de l’universitée de Miami, de celles du Texas, du Kra- sel Art Center, du Dreyfus Funds, du JP Morgan Chase, Forbes, Lannan Foundation, ou encore des collections du Pioneer Hi-Bred, Inc. En 2020 le Palm Springs Art Museum a acquis une de ses œuvres.

  • For more information, please contact us at

    galerie@dutko.com