Monique Frydman

Presentation

“I would like something like the Orée (dawn) of the world for my paintings.” It was Monique Frydman who uttered these words on 2 December 1988, found in her workshop notebooks when they were published this year*.

 

This autumn, Galerie Dutko has the honour of presenting the work of Monique Frydman for the first time. On the occasion of this first personal exhibition in Galerie Dutko – Ile Saint-Louis, three new series of works will be presented: les Rives (2019), L’Orée (2019), Les Aubes (2019).

 

A major artist in abstract painting, Monique Frydman has often evoked the time of the paintwork and of the painting in her work. When does a work begin? At dawn (Orée), like something that is being born, is dilating, midway between desire and mastery. In the work of Monique Frydman, the issue always touches on the time of the paintwork, and the time of the painting. While this question was raised with the artist in 1988, it is still topical in her activity. 

 

These series are particularly impregnated with what she sees, perceives and feels in the perpetual variations in light, colours and vibrations of the landscape that surround her workshop. This powerful source of inspiration, which has become an obvious fact to which she is extremely sensitive, is metamorphosed and revealed in the abstraction of the artist’s pictorial language. 

 

Monique Frydman’s landscapes are thus constructed and deconstructed over time. They become a mise en abymeof the internal landscapes, reflecting part of her history and the history of the painting itself on the canvas. 

 


 

Monique Frydman’s work has been presented at many institutions including the Parasol Unit Foundation for Contemporary Art in London, UK; the Bonnard Museum, Le Cannet, France; the Louvre Museum in Paris, France; the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art in Kanazawa, Japan; La Verrière – Fondation d’Entreprise Hermès in Brussels, Belgium; the Matisse Museums in Le Cateau-Cambrésis and in Nice, France; the Bouvet Ladubay Contemporary Art Centre in Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent, Saumur, France; the Fine Arts Museum of Tourcoing, France; the Museum of Brou, Bourg-en-Bresse, France and the Museum of Modern Art, Céret, France

 

Her works are also present in several major collections, including those of the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art in Kanazawa, Japan; the National Museum of Modern Art – Centre Pompidou in Paris; the Tel Aviv Museum of Art in Israel; the Fine Arts Museum of Caen, France; the Toulon Art Museum, France; the Sainte-Croix Abbey Museum in Sables d’Olonne, France; the Fonds National d’Art Contemporain of Paris; the Frac des Pays de la Loire; the Frac in Champagne-Ardenne; the Frac in Franche-Comté; the Frac in Île-de-France; the Museum of Modern Art and Contemporary Creationof Toulouse, France; the Contemporary Art Museum of Vitry-sur-Seine, France; the Auditorium of Flaine, France

Monique Frydman

Présentation

«Je voudrais quelque chose comme l’Orée du monde pour mes tableaux». Ces mots, ce sont ceux de Monique Frydman datant du 2 décembre 1988, retrouvés dans ses carnets d’atelier à l’occasion de leur édition cette année. 

 

Cet automne, la galerie Dutko a l’honneur de présenter pour la première fois le travail de Monique Frydman. A l’occasion de cette première expostion personnelle dans la galerie Dutko - Ile Saint-Louis, trois nouvelles séries d’oeuvres seront présentées: les Rives (2019), L’Orée (2019), Les Aubes (2019).

 

Artiste majeure de la peinture abstraite, Monique Frydman a souvent évoqué le temps de la peinture et du tableau dans son oeuvre. Quand commence une œuvre ? A l’Orée, comme quelque chose qui est en train de naitre, de se dilater, à mi chemin entre le désir et la maitrise. Il est toujours question du temps de peindre, et du temps de la peinture dans l’œuvre de Monique Frydman. Si cette question se posait à l’artiste en 1988, elle est toujours d’actualité dans sa pratique.

 

Ces séries  sont particulièrement imprégnées de ce qu’elle voit, perçoit, ressent dans le déroulement des variations de la lumière, des couleurs, et des vibrations du paysage qui entourent son atelier. Cette source d’inspiration puissante, devenue une évidence et à laquelle elle est très sensible, est métamorphosée et révélée dans l’abstraction du langage pictural de l’artiste.

 


 

 

Les paysages de Monique Frydman se construisent et se déconstruisent ainsi dans le temps. Ils deviennent une mise en abîme de ses paysages intérieurs, reflétant sur la toile une partie de son histoire et de l’histoire de la peinture. 

 

Le travail de Monique Frydman a été présenté dans de nombreuses institutions parmis lesquelle: la Parasol unit foundation for contemporary art à Londres, Royaume-Uni ; le Musée Bonnard, Le Cannet, France ; le Musée du Louvre à Paris, France ; le 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art à Kanazawa, Japon ; la La Verrière - Fondation d’entreprise Hermès à Brussels, Belgique ; les Musée Matisse du Cateau-Cambrésis et de Nice, France ; le Centre d’Art Contemporain Bouvet-Ladubay à Saint-Hilaire-Saint-Florent, Saumur, France ; le Musée des Beaux-Arts de Tourcoing, France ; le Musée de Brou, Bourg-en-Bresse, France, Musée d’Art Moderne, Céret, France

 

Ses oeuvres sont présentent dans plusieurs collections majeures , dont celles du  21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art à Kanazawa, Japon ; du Musée national d’art moderne – Centre Pompidou à Paris ; du Tel Aviv Museum of Art en Israël ; du Musée des Beaux-Arts de Caen, France ;  du Musée de la ville de Toulon, France ; du Musée de l’Abbaye de Sainte-Croix au Sables d’Olonne, France ; du Fonds National d’Art Contemporain de Paris ; du Frac des Pays de la Loire ; Frac Champagne-Ardenne  ; du Frac Franche-Comté ; du Frac Île-de-France ; du Musée d’Art Moderne et de la Création Contemporaine de Toulouse, France ; du Musée d’Art Contemporain de Vitry-sur-Seine, France ; de l’Auditorium de Flaine, France