Guy Leclercq: Silence Opaque

28 November 2020 - 30 January 2021
  • Galerie Dutko is pleased to present Silence Opaque, Guy Leclercq’s second solo exhibition with the gallery. On this occasion, we will present 18 works created over the last two years, presented for the first time in France. 

     

    Since the early 1980s, Guy Leclercq, born in Opbrakel (Belgium) in 1940, has opted for the language of geometry as a pictorial vector of expression. A refined geometry, driven by a strikingly mastered technique. To virtuoso technical demonstration, the painter chooses the elegance of subtlety, but the gesture is of an unflinching technicality. 

  • GUY LECLERCQ, 20.163, 2020

    GUY LECLERCQ

    20.163, 2020 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas

    90 x 70 cm
  • GUY LECLERCQ, 20.165, 2020

    GUY LECLERCQ

    20.165, 2020 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas

    90 x 70 cm
  • The canvas, prepared according to ancient techniques, is coated with an undercoat of casein. The colors emerge from rare pigments, and if his palette seems restricted to black, brown, gray and white, thousands of shades compose his works. Vine black, triple black, carbon black, Roman black, mummy black, etc. The painter goes so far as to rework the pictorial layer by scraping, rubbing, creating textures of great richness, so that it emerges as an impression of collage which is not without evoking certain works of Braque or Picasso.

  • GUY LECLERCQ, 18.112, 2018

    GUY LECLERCQ

    18.112, 2018 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas

    100 x 120 cm
    • GUY LECLERCQ, 19.139, 2019
      GUY LECLERCQ, 19.139, 2019
    • GUY LECLERCQ, 19.130, 2019
      GUY LECLERCQ, 19.130, 2019
    • GUY LECLERCQ, 19.148/B , 2019
      GUY LECLERCQ, 19.148/B , 2019
  • His geometric vocabulary is never flat nor simplistic. The layers are superimposed, intersect and overlap, merging into a variety of striking relief-like effects; almost like bas relief accentuated by the central position of the geometrical “structures” in the compositions, standing out from the canvas by their volumetry. 

  • GUY LECLERCQ, 19.127, 2019

    GUY LECLERCQ

    19.127, 2019 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas

    116 x 89 cm
  • GUY LECLERCQ, 20.170, 2020

    GUY LECLERCQ

    20.170, 2020 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas

    120 x 100 cm
  • GUY LECLERCQ, 20.169, 2020

    GUY LECLERCQ

    20.169, 2020 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas

    60 x 50 cm
  • His works reveal themselves only to the attentive eyes and patient minds, and the mysteries of their compositions require time. A time of listening – one could say – necessary, to perceive all the demands, all the nuances and all the suggestions. 

     

    There is always something to discover in Guy Leclercq’s painting. Here an ethereal shadow all in halftone, there a slight gradation in the angle of a curve, an imperceptible change of texture, etc. Abstraction allows him to give form to subtlety and to paint silence. An opaque silence, but a sonorous one with rigorous and delicate melodies.

    • GUY LECLERCQ, 19.143/B, 2019
      GUY LECLERCQ, 19.143/B, 2019
    • GUY LECLERCQ, 20.166, 2020
      GUY LECLERCQ, 20.166, 2020
    • GUY LECLERCQ, 19.143, 2019
      GUY LECLERCQ, 19.143, 2019
  • For more information, please contact us at

    galerie@dutko.com

Guy Leclercq: Silence Opaque

28 Novembre 2020 - 30 Janvier 2021
  • La Galerie Dutko à la plaisir de présenter Silence Opaque, la seconde exposition personnelle de Guy Leclercq avec la galerie. A cette occasion, nous présenterons 18 œuvres réalisées au cours de ces 2 dernières années, présentées pour la première fois en France. L’exposition se déroulera du 18 novembre 2020 au 9 janvier 2021 à la Galerie Dutko l Bonaparte.

     

    Guy Leclercq, né à Opbrakel en 1940, a opté depuis le début des années 80 pour le langage de la géométrie comme vocabulaire pictural. Une géométrie épurée, portée par une technique remarquablement maitrisée. A la démonstration technique virtuose, le peintre choisi l’élégance de la subtilité, mais le geste est d’une technicité implacable. 

  • GUY LECLERCQ, 20.163, 2020

    GUY LECLERCQ

    20.163, 2020 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas

    90 x 70 cm
  • GUY LECLERCQ, 20.165, 2020

    GUY LECLERCQ

    20.165, 2020 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas

    90 x 70 cm
  • La toile, préparée selon des techniques anciennes, est enduite d’une sous-couche de caséine. Les couleurs naissent de pigments rares, et si palette semble restreinte au noir, brun, gris et blanc, mille nuances composent ses œuvres. Noir de vigne, triple noir, noir carbone, romain, noir momie, etc.. Le peintre va jusqu’à à retravailler la couche picturale en la grattant, frottant, créant des effets de texture d’une grande richesse, de sorte qu’il s’en dégage comme une impression de collage qui n’est pas sans évoquer certaines œuvres de Braque ou de Picasso.

  • GUY LECLERCQ, 18.112, 2018

    GUY LECLERCQ

    18.112, 2018 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas

    100 x 120 cm
    • GUY LECLERCQ, 19.139, 2019
      GUY LECLERCQ, 19.139, 2019
    • GUY LECLERCQ, 19.130, 2019
      GUY LECLERCQ, 19.130, 2019
    • GUY LECLERCQ, 19.148/B , 2019
      GUY LECLERCQ, 19.148/B , 2019
  • Son vocabulaire géométrique n’est jamais plat ni simpliste. Les plans se superposent, se croisent, se coupent et recoupent, se confondent dans une variété d’effets de reliefs saisissant. Effet de bas-relief presque, accentué par la position centrale des « structures » géométriques dans les compositions, se démarquant ainsi par leur volumétrie de la toile de fond. 

  • GUY LECLERCQ, 19.127, 2019

    GUY LECLERCQ

    19.127, 2019 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas

    116 x 89 cm
  • GUY LECLERCQ, 20.170, 2020

    GUY LECLERCQ

    20.170, 2020 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas

    120 x 100 cm
  • GUY LECLERCQ, 20.169, 2020

    GUY LECLERCQ

    20.169, 2020 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas

    60 x 50 cm
  • Ses œuvres ne se dévoilent qu’aux yeux attentifs et aux esprits patients, et les mystères de leurs compostions réclament du temps. Un temps d’écoute - pourrait-on dire – nécessaire, pour en percer toutes les exigences, toutes les nuances et toutes les suggestions. 

     

    Il y a toujours quelque chose à découvrir dans la peinture de Guy Leclercq. Ici une ombre éthérée toute en demi-teinte, là un léger dégradé dans l’angle d’une courbe, un changement imperceptible de texture, etc.. L’abstraction lui permet de donner forme à la subtilité et de peindre le silence. Un silence opaque, mais un silence sonore aux mélodies rigoureuses et délicates. 

    • GUY LECLERCQ, 19.143/B, 2019
      GUY LECLERCQ, 19.143/B, 2019
    • GUY LECLERCQ, 20.166, 2020
      GUY LECLERCQ, 20.166, 2020
    • GUY LECLERCQ, 19.143, 2019
      GUY LECLERCQ, 19.143, 2019
  • For more information, please contact us at

    galerie@dutko.com