Christian Sorg: Surgissements

20 February - 3 April 2021
  • Text written by Marc Blanchet
  • Exhibition view © Agence Phar
  • These are emergences. Fruits, flowers, the crossing of a souk, a sky, an oil on canvas according to Goya, stone landscapes or prehistoric caves: everything here appears suddenly; shapes and colors intersect and multiply, almost palpable in their roundness, their looseness, among jerks and jolts close to a leap. Although they are edged by disappearance, we cannot speak about them as abstractions, but as things seen, and thus experienced.

  • Christian Sorg, Pommes de terre, 2013

    Christian Sorg

    Pommes de terre, 2013 Technique mixte sur toile / Mixed technique on canvas
    130 x 196 cm / 51 1/8 x 77 1/8 in.
  • Christian Sorg, L'olivier, 2003

    Christian Sorg

    L'olivier, 2003 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas
    200 x 200 cm / 78 3/4 x 78 3/4 in.
  • Christian Sorg, Tumulos ibericos, 2013

    Christian Sorg

    Tumulos ibericos, 2013 Technique mixte sur toile / Mixed technique on canvas
    98 x 295 cm / 38 5/8 x 116 1/8 in.
  • This selection of paintings by Christian Sorg is part of more than twenty years – a small part of the great book of hours that is his work. It shows how much seeing is perceiving, even if every achievement contains its failure, every wonder its demise. By their nuances, ever moving, their palpitations where color exclaims, these paintings are imprinted in our eyes like unbridled fluidities.

  • Christian Sorg, Tu que no puedes, d'après Goya, 1986

    Christian Sorg

    Tu que no puedes, d'après Goya, 1986 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas
    184 x 154 cm / 72 1/2 x 60 5/8 in.
  • Christian Sorg, Roc, Els Estrets, 2020

    Christian Sorg

    Roc, Els Estrets, 2020 Technique mixte sur toile / Mixed technique on canvas
    124 x 148 cm / 48 7/8 x 58 1/4 in.
  • The solidity of the elements is however pronounced in certain paintings. Suddenly, the rock strikes with its appearances. We see it, in spite of its eddies and vanishing lines, erecting its landscapes. An architecture rises and unfolds its volumes, its bumps, its projections, the strange materiality of its colors. Resistances, righteousness – flaws: it emerges in our image.

  • Christian Sorg, Le ciel, 2006

    Christian Sorg

    Le ciel, 2006 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas
    124 x 232 cm / 48 7/8 x 91 3/8 in.
  • There is touch in these tumuli, these stone paths, these waves of rock, coming from France or Spain. Perhaps here and there we will see animals and human beings. Some of these large paintings are indeed the silent narrators of the rocky sites visited by the painter. It is important to enter into these thousand-year-old dwellings whose interior slopes lead to the folds of memory. For his part, Christian Sorg has been committed to this for a long time. Is the painting the space from which it returns or the one in which it has remained? 

  • Christian Sorg, Les Pommes, 2010

    Christian Sorg

    Les Pommes, 2010 Technique mixte sur toile / Mixed technique on canvas
    130 x 181 cm / 51 1/8 x 71 1/4 in.
  • Christian Sorg, Marrakech, les souks, 2005

    Christian Sorg

    Marrakech, les souks, 2005 Diptyque, huile sur toile / Diptych, Oil on canvas
    195 x 260 cm / 76 3/4 x 102 3/8 in.
  • Perhaps canvases like Arcy, “Chemin des grottes I et II” seek to bring our origins back to life, through the use of an art woven into daily existence. What could be more poetic during our residency on earth than to paint the interior of one’s home? More moving than to transform the virginity of a wall into a book? More true than to link the signs born from his hand to the accidents of the rock? Perhaps the painter suggests that we find refuge in these singular spaces. 

  • Christian Sorg, Arcy, chemin des grottes, 2020

    Christian Sorg

    Arcy, chemin des grottes, 2020 Technique mixte sur toile / Mixed technique on canvas
    109 x 222 cm / 42 7/8 x 87 3/8 in.
  • Christian Sorg, Arcy, chemin des grottes II, 2020

    Christian Sorg

    Arcy, chemin des grottes II, 2020 Technique mixte sur toile / Mixed technique on canvas
    96 x 209 cm / 37 3/4 x 82 1/4 in.
  • The works of Christian Sorg offer the beauty of a world without artifice, of a timelessness that embraces everything. They whisper that if the learning of shapes and colors is the first knowledge where our senses open, it is the very concern of his art. These emergences tell of the inalienable breadth of daily life and the adventure always on the way to painting.

  • Christian Sorg, Chemin de pierre, 2005

    Christian Sorg

    Chemin de pierre, 2005 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas
    188 x 204 cm / 74 1/8 x 80 1/4 in.
  • For more information, please contact us at

Christian Sorg: Surgissements

20 Février - 3 Avril 2021
  • Texte de Marc Blanchet
  • Ce sont des surgissements. Des fruits, des fleurs, la traversée d’un souk, un ciel, une huile sur toile d’après Goya, des paysages de pierre ou des cavernes préhistoriques : tout ici apparaît soudainement ; formes et couleurs s’entrecroisent et se multiplient, presque palpables dans leurs arrondis, leurs déliés, parmi des saccades et des soubresauts proches du bond. Si la disparition les borde, on ne peut parler à leur sujet d’abstractions, mais bien de choses vues, et par là-même vécues.

  • Christian Sorg, Pommes de terre, 2013

    Christian Sorg

    Pommes de terre, 2013 Technique mixte sur toile / Mixed technique on canvas
    130 x 196 cm / 51 1/8 x 77 1/8 in.
  • Christian Sorg, L'olivier, 2003

    Christian Sorg

    L'olivier, 2003 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas
    200 x 200 cm / 78 3/4 x 78 3/4 in.
  • Christian Sorg, Tumulos ibericos, 2013

    Christian Sorg

    Tumulos ibericos, 2013 Technique mixte sur toile / Mixed technique on canvas
    98 x 295 cm / 38 5/8 x 116 1/8 in.
  • Cette sélection de peintures de Christian Sorg s’inscrit sur plus de vingt ans – une mince partie de ce grand livre d’heures qu’est son œuvre. Elle montre combien voir c’est percevoir, même si toute réalisation contient sa défaite, tout émerveillement sa dissolution. Par leurs nuances toujours en mouvement, leurs palpitations où s’exclame la couleur, ces tableaux s’impriment dans notre regard comme des fluidités intranquilles.

  • Christian Sorg, Tu que no puedes, d'après Goya, 1986

    Christian Sorg

    Tu que no puedes, d'après Goya, 1986 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas
    184 x 154 cm / 72 1/2 x 60 5/8 in.
  • Christian Sorg, Roc, Els Estrets, 2020

    Christian Sorg

    Roc, Els Estrets, 2020 Technique mixte sur toile / Mixed technique on canvas
    124 x 148 cm / 48 7/8 x 58 1/4 in.
  • La solidité des éléments se prononce toutefois dans certaines peintures. D’un coup, la roche frappe de ses apparitions. On la voit, malgré ses remous et ses lignes de fuite, dresser ses paysages. Une architecture s’élève et déploie ses volumes, ses bosses, ses saillies, l’étrange matérialité de ses couleurs. Résistances, droitures – failles : elle surgit à notre image.

  • Christian Sorg, Le ciel, 2006

    Christian Sorg

    Le ciel, 2006 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas
    124 x 232 cm / 48 7/8 x 91 3/8 in.
  • Il y a du toucher dans ces tumulus, ces sentiers de pierre, ces vagues de roche, venus de France ou d’Espagne. Peut-être apercevra-t-on ici ou là animaux et êtres humains. Certaines de ces grandes peintures sont en effet les narratrices silencieuses des sites rupestres visités par le peintre. Il importe d’entrer dans ces demeures millénaires dont les pentes intérieures entraînent vers les replis de la mémoire. Pour sa part, Christian Sorg s’y est engagé depuis longtemps. Le tableau est-il l’espace d’où il revient ou celui dans lequel il est resté ? 

  • Christian Sorg, Les Pommes, 2010

    Christian Sorg

    Les Pommes, 2010 Technique mixte sur toile / Mixed technique on canvas
    130 x 181 cm / 51 1/8 x 71 1/4 in.
  • Christian Sorg, Marrakech, les souks, 2005

    Christian Sorg

    Marrakech, les souks, 2005 Diptyque, huile sur toile / Diptych, Oil on canvas
    195 x 260 cm / 76 3/4 x 102 3/8 in.
  • Christian Sorg, Arcy, chemin des grottes, 2020

    Christian Sorg

    Arcy, chemin des grottes, 2020 Technique mixte sur toile / Mixed technique on canvas
    109 x 222 cm / 42 7/8 x 87 3/8 in.
  • Peut-être des toiles comme Arcy, chemin des grottes I et II cherchent-elles à redonner vie à nos origines, par l’usage d’un art tissé à l’existence quotidienne. Quoi de plus poétique lors de notre résidence sur terre que de peindre l’intérieur de son foyer ? De plus émouvant que de transformer en livre la virginité d’une paroi ? De plus vrai que de lier les signes nés de sa main aux accidents de la roche ? Peut-être le peintre nous propose-t-il de trouver refuge dans ces espaces singuliers. 

  • Exhibition view © Agence Phar
  • Christian Sorg, Arcy, chemin des grottes II, 2020

    Christian Sorg

    Arcy, chemin des grottes II, 2020 Technique mixte sur toile / Mixed technique on canvas
    96 x 209 cm / 37 3/4 x 82 1/4 in.
  • Les œuvres de Christian Sorg offrent la beauté d’un monde sans artifice, d’une atemporalité qui embrasse tout. Elles murmurent que si l’apprentissage des formes et des couleurs est la connaissance première où s’ouvrent nos sens, elle est le souci même de son art. Ces surgissements disent l’ampleur inaliénable du quotidien et l’aventure toujours en chemin de la peinture.

  • Christian Sorg, Chemin de pierre, 2005

    Christian Sorg

    Chemin de pierre, 2005 Huile sur toile / Oil on canvas
    188 x 204 cm / 74 1/8 x 80 1/4 in.
  • For more information, please contact us at