CHRISTIAN JACCARD

Artworks
Biography

‘Black is the colour of the universal substance of prima materia and primordial non-differentiation. It absorbs the light and does not return it. It evokes the darkness of the night, the darkness of our origins, the gulf-like depths of the abyss. But thanks to the abyss, it embodies the fertile earth, the receptacle that prepares the rebirth of life. And in my dreams, the appearance of black invites me to get in touch with my primitive instinctive universe, to bring enlightenment, whereas white tends to oppress me.’ 

 

Christian Jaccard

 

Since the late fifties, Christian Jaccard has been experimenting with various combinatorial techniques and processes in a quest for traces, prints and marks. 

 

He begins by taking the prints of fishbones and other frameworks from the sand and transferring them to lithography. He then creates "do-it-yourself-assemblies", scale tools and boxes, boxes, chests and cases containing his tools made with strings and ropes of linen, hemp, jute, and sisal. 

 

Jaccard uses these waste materials for their textures and knots, ligatures or ties them. He makes prints on canvas by engraving these same objects and exposes them together like Couples. 

 

From 1973 onwards, combustion became a decisive and spectacular element of his creative principle, as did Yves Klein's fire paintings. He uses fire to burn his works or those of others to make relics. He continues to test leather and paper for fire. 

 

In the 1980s, he made small gold sculptures from his Tools made of scrap materials to introduce an element of questioning about the intrinsic value of a work – "the quality of things." He creates reinforced tools by covering them with graphite.

 

From 1986 onwards, he braided wicks on iron or PVC frames for the Supranodal Concept series, some of which could be monumental and developed more radical combustion processes to create other burns.

 

 

Christian Jaccardwas born in 1939 and lives and works in Paris. His first solo exhibition took place in Paris in 1962. Christian Jaccard has wanted to radically free himself from the traditional codes of painting since the 1960s, in an approach similar to that of the Supports/Surfaces movement.

CHRISTIAN JACCARD

Œuvres
Biographie

« Le noir est la couleur de la substance universelle de la materia prima et de l'indifférenciation primordiale. Il absorbe la lumière et ne la rend pas. Il évoque les ténèbres de la nuit, l'obscurité des origines, ce gouffre aux profondeurs abyssales.Mais grâce à lui, il incarne la terre fertile, le réceptacle qui prépare une renaissance de la vie. Et dans mes rêves, l'apparition du noir m'invite à prendre contact avec mon univers instinctif primitif qu'il s'agit d'éclairer, alors que le blanc aurait tendance à m'oppresser ».

 

Christian Jaccard

 

Depuis la fin des années cinquante, Christian Jaccard expérimente diverses techniques et processus combinatoires pour effectuer des recherches sur la trace, l’empreinte, la marque. 

 

Dans un premier temps, il prend des empreintes d’arêtes et d’ossatures sur le sable et les transfère en lithographie Par la suite, Jaccard crée des « bricolages-assemblages », des outils-échelles, et des boîtes, des coffrets, des caisses contenant ses outils réalisés avec des ficelles, des cordes en lin, en chanvre, en jute, en sisal. 

 

Jaccard utilise ces déchets de textures et les noue, les ligature ou les ficelle. Il prend des empreintes sur toile en encrant ces mêmes objets et les expose ensemble comme des Couples. 

 

À partir de 1973, la combustion devient un élément décisif et spectaculaire de son principe créatif, à l’instar des peintures de feu d’Yves Klein. Il utilise le feu pour brûler ses toiles ou celles des autres pour en faire des « reliques ». Il met encore à l’épreuve du feu des cuirs, des papiers. 

 

Dans les années 1980, il réalise de petites sculptures en or à partir de ses Outils faits de matériaux de rebut pour introduire un questionnement sur la valeur de l’oeuvre, 

« la qualité des choses ». Il crée des Outils armés en les couvrant de graphite.

 

À partir de 1986, il tresse des mèches sur des armatures de fer ou de PVC pour la série Concept supranodal, dont certaines pièces peuvent être monumentales et développe notamment des processus de combustion plus radicaux pour créer d’autres brûlis.

 

 

Christian Jaccard est né en 1939 et vit et travaille à Paris. La première exposition personnelle de Christian Jaccard a lieu en 1962 à Paris.

 

Christian Jaccard a voulu se libérer radicalement dès les années 1960 des codes traditionnels de la peinture, dans une démarche proche de celle du mouvement  Supports/Surfaces.