PHILIPPE ANTHONIOZ

Artworks
Biography

Philippe Anthonioz shakes up our definition of design and blurs our image of sculpture. In his work, the boundaries that separate sculpture from furniture exist in order to be crossed. Furniture as sculpture ? Sculpture as furniture ? A constant toing and froing by the artist between the fine and applied arts.

Anthonioz does not design his furniture; rather he shapes it in plaster, before modifying the scale and transmuting the material. The delicate maquette modelled in the softness of gypsum becomes a bronze chair, commanding and confident. The powerful presence in space of his furniture/sculpture succeeds in holding at a distance all the hackneyed clichés of design. He never squanders his talent on work that is facile, long-winded or insipid. His areas of interest convey his journeys of discovery through poetry and literature, given new expression in the dense solidity of bronze.

Intimacy is also a feature of his work, which embraces the wind, brotherhood, passion and utopias. Pieces in polished plaster, in natural or polychrome wood, speak eloquently of the formal and stylistic richness of Anthonioz's work, of his love for his materials, for history and for the art of sculpture.

 

Philippe Anthonioz is a French sculptor and artist from Paris, France. Philippe was born in Paris on December 7th 1953. He is self-taught and started his career working with Nadia Pasquer, Raymond Mason and finally with Diego Giacometti. Philippe’s work has been ex­hibited extensively in museums around the world. He lives and works in Paris.

Exhibitions

PHILIPPE ANTHONIOZ

Œuvres
Biographie

Philippe Anthonioz perturbe la définition du designer et il brouille l'image du sculpteur. Les frontières qui divisent la sculpture et le mobilier, sont chez lui faites pour être transgressées. Meubles sculptés ? Sculptures meublantes ? Va et vient incessant de l'artiste entre les arts appliqués et les beaux arts.

 

Philippe Anthonioz ne dessine pas ses meubles, il les façonne dans le plâtre, puis l'échelle se modifie et la matière transmute. La délicate maquette modelée dans la douceur du gypse devient l'arrogant fauteuil de bronze. La présence intense de ses meubles/sculptures dans l'espace éloigne les lieux communs du design tellement galvaudé. Jamais il ne gaspille son talent dans des oeuvres faciles, bavardes, insipides. Ses recherches traduisent ses vagabondages poétiques et romanesques réécrits par le bronze dense et solide. 

 

Dans son oeuvre il y a aussi l'intime. On y trouve le vent, la fraternité, la passion, des utopies… Des plâtres polis, des bois polychromes ou originels qui disent toute la richesse formelle et stylistique du travail de Philippe Anthonioz, son amour de la matière, de l'histoire et du geste. Artiste et sculpteur français, Philippe Anthonioz vit et travaille à Paris. Philippe est né à Paris le 7 décembre 1953. Autodidacte il commenca sa carrière en travaillant avec Nadia Pasquer, Raymond Mason puis Diego Giacometti.